Print Edition

  Email News Updates

Wynn Hospital receives trauma center designation

By Journal Staff (


Mohawk Valley Health System’s (MVHS) Wynn Hospital was recently designated a Provisional Level III Adult Trauma Center, making it the newest trauma center in the state and the only one located between Albany and Syracuse. Shown here is the trauma center team at Wynn Hospital. (PHOTO CREDIT: MVHS)

UTICA, N.Y. — The Wynn Hospital, part of the Mohawk Valley Health System (MVHS), has been designated a Provisional Level III Adult Trauma Center by the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH), making it the newest trauma center in the state, MVHS recently announced.

The designation means that residents of the Mohawk Valley have access to advanced care for patients coming to the hospital after a traumatic injury.

“Our verification as a Level III trauma center recognizes the Wynn Hospital’s dedication to providing optimal care for injured patients, and we are proud to offer exceptional trauma care to those within our community,” MVHS President/CEO Darlene Stromstad said in a news release. “I applaud the dedicated members of our team, including emergency care, surgical services, orthopedics, and neurosurgical care for their contributions to this designation.”

Wynn Hospital is the only trauma center between Albany and Syracuse, providing rapid access to medical care, which is associated with better outcomes and survival rates after a traumatic injury, MVHS said.

Maurizio Miglietta was named trauma medical director for the trauma center.

“This designation is crucial to providing our community the level of care we need and deserve,” Miglietta said. “I am proud of our team for their work to receive this new designation and for the care they continue to provide our patients every day.”

Wynn Hospital opened in October 2023 as part of the Mohawk Valley Health System. MVHS serves Oneida, Herkimer, and Madison counties and employs more than 4,000 people. 

Thank You For Visiting