Print Edition

  Email News Updates

SUNY announces new president for SUNY Oswego

By Eric Reinhardt (


Peter Nwosu will be the 11th president of SUNY Oswego when he begins his new duties in mid-August. (Photo credit: SUNY Oswego)

OSWEGO, N.Y. — The SUNY board of trustees has appointed Peter Nwosu as the next president of SUNY Oswego.

Nwosu will be the 11th president following the retirement of former president Deborah Stanley in December 2021. Officer-in-Charge Mary C. Toale will assist with the leadership transition.

Nwosu’s appointment is effective Aug. 15, per the school’s Tuesday announcement.

“As SUNY moves forward with the four pillars of our vision — student success; research and scholarship; diversity, equity, and inclusion; and economic development and upward mobility for our students — our campus leadership is crucial to fulfilling our promise to transform SUNY into the best public higher education system for our students, faculty, and staff,” SUNY Chancellor John King, Jr., said in the announcement. “My congratulations to SUNY Oswego as we look to welcome Dr. Peter Nwosu and prepare for Fall 2023.”

Nwosu joins SUNY from Herbert H. Lehman College in New York City, where he is provost and senior VP for academic affairs and student success. Nwosu is an American Council on Education fellow and Fulbright scholar.

“My career has been and will continue to focus on student success, and what struck me at SUNY Oswego was the energy around campus to create opportunities,” Nwosu said. “Students are encouraged and guided by faculty and staff to get the most out of their education and follow their path — that is the power of education to transform lives and ignite new possibilities.”


Thank You For Visiting