Print Edition

  Email News Updates

CNYSME honors Morrisseau with 2024 Crystal Ball Award

By Eric Reinhardt (


Pierre Morrisseau, CEO of OneGroup, is the 47th recipient of the Crystal Ball Award, which the Central New York Sales and Marketing Executives (CNYSME) will present at the annual Crystal Ball and Sales & Marketing Excellence Awards presentation and celebration on April 17. (PHOTO CREDIT: CNYSME)

SYRACUSE, N.Y. — The Central New York Sales & Marketing Executives (CNYSME) will recognize Pierre Morrisseau, CEO of Syracuse–based OneGroup, with its prestigious Crystal Ball Award.

The Crystal Ball Award is presented annually by CNYSME to a local businessperson or group of businesspeople in recognition of their contributions to the sales and marketing profession and for their endeavors in the areas of community development and support.

CNYSME will present the award to Morrisseau on April 17 at the Marriott Syracuse Downtown during the annual Crystal Ball and Sales & Marketing Excellence Awards presentation and celebration.

Morrisseau is the 47th recipient of the award. He leads OneGroup, a risk management, insurance brokerage, and employee-benefits firm. Community Bank System (NYSE: CBU) purchased OneGroup in 2015, adding to its portfolio of services including wealth management, pension services, benefit administration, and more.

Morrisseau has led OneGroup to “unprecedented success,” with the firm growing from $4 million in revenue and 35 employees to nearly $50 million in combined revenue, with more than 250 employees and locations spanning across the East Coast, CNYSME said.

“It’s a great honor to accept this award, especially among all of the amazing and impactful leaders in our community,” Morrisseau said in a CNYSME news release. “When OneGroup was formed 20 years ago, I knew that integrating our community into our business model was essential. Business and community thrive together, and by keeping our eyes open, we see the opportunity to do good for both. I’m fortunate to be able to intertwine my missions as an individual with the missions of the company, and feel privileged to be recognized by the Central New York Sales & Marketing Executives.”

Besides his work with OneGroup, Morrisseau is also involved with several nonprofits in the Central New York region. 

He currently sits on the boards for David’s Refuge and the Loretto Foundation Board, as a trustee, CNYSME said. He is also a founding member of the White Ribbon campaign and a current board member of Vera House, as well as a member of the McNeil advisory board at Le Moyne College. 

In addition, OneGroup Center also donates its meeting and event space to nonprofit organizations, CNYSME noted.

Besides the Crystal Ball Award presentation, nearly two dozen local companies will be awarded Sales and Marketing Excellence Awards (SMEA) for the top performing sales and marketing professionals within their organizations. 

CNYSME will also use its ceremony to award scholarships to two local students majoring in or planning to major in sales or marketing disciplines, saying the scholarships are “part of CNYSME’s mission to help educate and advance sales and marketing professionals.

About the Crystal Ball Award

The criteria for Crystal Ball Award recognition includes “but is not limited to” a person whose visibility impacts the progress and prosperity of Central New York; a leader who demonstrates commitment to superior quality and professionalism; a person who fosters excellence in their industry; local involvement in community and civic organizations; and demonstrates and practices an appreciation of the sales and marketing industry.

“Pierre exemplifies the spirit and values behind the Crystal Ball award,” Rob Marino, president of CNYSME, said. “His highly impactful and positive role in our community, has been an inspiration to fellow community leaders throughout the years. Pierre’s commitment and compassion to the Central New York community is what makes him an exemplary addition to recent Crystal Ball recipients.”

Recent past CNYSME Crystal Ball Award recipients include Stephanie Crockett, president and CEO of Mower in 2023: Ed Riley of Brine Wells Development/Marriott Syracuse Downtown in 2022; Laura Serway, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and former owner of Laci’s Tapas Bar in Syracuse in 2021; Mark Re of Howard Hanna Real Estate Services in 2019; and Howard Dolgon, owner, president, CEO, and team governor of the Syracuse Crunch minor-league hockey team in 2014.


2023 Stephanie Crockett
2022 Ed Riley
2021 Laura Serway
2019 Mark Re
2018 Kimberly Boynton
2017 Phil VanHorne
2016 Allen Naples
2015 Robert Daino
2014 Howard Dolgon
2013 Peter Belyea
2012 Debbie L. Sydow
2011 John Stage
2010 Peter J. Coleman, Jr.
2009 Edward Levine
2008 John MacDougall
2007 Ray Halbritter
2006 Nancy Cantor
2005 Arthur Zimmer
2004 The Goldberg Family
2003 Jack H. Webb
2002 William G. Pomeroy
2001 Joel Delmonico
2000 Mary Cotter
1999 Gregory L. Eastwood
1998 The Burdick Family
1997 Richard & Joseph Pietrafesa
1996 Martin A. Yenawine
1995 The Bennett Family
1994 Clarence Jordan
1993 William J. Donlon
1992 Robert J. Bennett
1991 Robert & Suzanne Congel
1990 Charles A. Chappell, Jr.
1989 Irwin Davis

Thank You For Visiting